top of page
  • ken21195687

Music video evaluation

Updated: Feb 22, 2023

I removed the green in the greenscreen parts with this removal colour code. (And I removed the green background for the fake rain.)



The music video took a lot of work to edit and insert (Especially the lip syncing, which was a nightmare to make.)

The grey parts in-between the scenes are the fade transitions and it was used in my video when the scene changed into the dream sequence and the reality sequence and at the end of the music video where I faded out.

To make the black and white scenes I had to turn the saturation down to -100% on a location video.

I planned to have the dream sequence (Greenscreen in studio) take place in the US and have the reality scenes take place near Runshaw Collage. (Camera)

We used a video camera to record the scenes in the music video.

The props that were used in the video were a steering wheel from Mario Kart Wii, a set of Cowin headphones (We used Goodmans headphones as a backup), two guitars (One from Alan) and some hats and costumes from the greenscreen room.

Originally, Harvey was going to use his brother's guitar, but his brother refused to let him borrow it.

At the beginning of the production of the video, my group (Alan, Anson, Harvey and me) worked on how we were going to plan the video out.

We had some drawing of the scenes planned and it took a few lessons to sort it out.

During the planning, me and Alan had to make the treatment on a word document, while Anson and Harvey worked on the storyboard.

We had two people recorded for the guitar segments (Harvey and Anson) and had either Harvey or Alan record the outdoor scenes.

I did not choose this song it was Alan who chose it, originally I was going to use Breaking the Habit by Linkin Park and Harvey had the end credits song from Steven Universe, but Alan's song was used and we were fine with that. (Anson didn't have his song because he was ill one week prior to the song selection)

We did interviews with some people we knew and one group member, which was me.

My role in the video was playing as the main singer, who is in this gloomy and raining England and dreams of being in somewhere better.

At one point I forgot to bring my headphones in and instead Alan had to let me use his headphones, it happened.

The music video was then created onto WeVideo.com, but it was not like Adobe Audition, I had to be very specific on where to place the videos so I can sync them as best as I could. (It took a couple of days to get the video done.)

What went well was the greenscreen recordings, I may have slipped up a line or two, but it was fun and exciting, not to mention the lip syncing was easy to do.

It would be better if there would be an extended version of the video, which would have the entire song in the video with more scenes and only me lip syncing the chorus.

The song "Life is a highway" means the highway is very long and so is life itself.

The music video is below the text. (Enjoy!)


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page