top of page
  • ken21195687

Practical Photography and Evaluations

Updated: Dec 14, 2022

Before the photography shooting, we did some research of photography genres, research of creative framing and photography, Treatment, Contingency plan, Mood Board, Photography ethics, research of Studio Lighting, History of Photography, job roles of media and photography.

Lightbox

Before we took the pictures, we took some pictures from the lightbox and in the studio.

The Rice Krispies box influenced me because it was the first thing that came to my mind when I was told to bring a prop in.

The first three images were a cereal box were actually from a TESCO cereal box, with a prop of a bowl and a spoon. It makes it feel like an advertising product as it has some common things for a cereal advert. Also, the advertisements capture the depth of field of the pictures.

I chose cereal because it was part of my mood board for advertising.

The next images are shoes (Nike Zoom 2k shoes)

This influenced me because Nike is a well known brand and using it would get people's attention towards the pictures.

The reason why I chose these shoes is because I added them on my mood board for fashion.

It makes it feel like an advertising poster for a shoe brand, Nike does a lot of those and most of them have the slogan "Just do it!"

Studio

I used the shots with Alan Tapley and Harvey Frater.

I used the red gel to make it like a horror film, it makes the picture like the person in the picture is evil as the colour red has connotations of blood and danger.

I used a cowboy two shot to make it like an old west film. (I went through a lot of trouble editing the background.

I used the blue gel to make it like a detective film, it makes the picture look like the person in the photo is investigating a crime and makes them like a good guy as the colour blue represents confidence and loyalty.

Camera shots

I never used black and white on the pictures because no one would be able to know which colour is which.

The patterns I had with my photos are using trees depicting nature, houses depicting a key part of life, snow depicting cold, orange sunrise depicting lights and having the orange colour depict warmth.

I used the rule of thirds technique on the dog picture, having the dog in the centre.

The snow influenced me because we don't have snow very often and it was good to capture while it was here.

The composition I needed for the pictures were mostly having the photos take place outside.

I have chosen a sunrise because it would have a beautiful feel to see the trees being illuminated by the sunlight.

The problem is it's too dark to see and it wasn't that dark when I was taking the photos, apparently WIX may have been darkening the photos for some reason.

I used a worm shot of the reddish orange clouds to capture the effects of the sunrise. The problem I have with it is that it wouldn't last long as when it gets to about 8:10am (As of December 2022) the clouds are no longer that colour.

I used a long shot of the street covered in snow to give an impression of what the snow would be like in the morning.

I was going to do this behind a window, but the window had some water drops on it so I had to open it and I had to put the strap from the camera around my neck, in case if I drop it.

I have done a close up of Rivington, because it's a well known mountain and with a sunrise. I went through a lot of trouble just to try and get it, it kept on getting out of focus and when I do try and get a focused picture it kept getting blurry. (That was a nightmare to get it)

I took a picture of a cup of tea with biscuits to make it an advertisement for biscuits as the camera is focusing on the items instead of the background. I had to get the camera to rest on my camera bag to get a clear shot of it.

I used a portrait of my dog, Rolo, covered in snow to show how cute dog portraits are. The problem with it was when activating the portrait setting it kept on activating a flash setting which at first I though the camera was broken, but it's just the setting, however there is a no-flash option and I didn't want to blind my dog.

I used leading lines on the bench with frost on it to make the people, who see the picture, focus on the lines.

I was worried someone would photobomb in the picture, luckily they didn't, I did however did it with people walking past me and had their backs in their photo to protect their identities.

I used an extreme close up on myself, it wasn't easy as I had to use my phone as a mirror to see where my camera was pointing. I did this one because there is a notable phrase "eyes are the windows to the soul" and it would show how irresistible it is.

I used a street in this photo as it's used in my mood board, it makes the picture look like the street is peaceful and quiet.

I didn't want to use a flash option because I'm worried someone may wake up or be disturbed by it.

I did a landscape image of the field (Which may no longer be there anymore in the future) to give a nature feel to the image, when people hear the term landscape the first thing they would think of is a grass field. (I know the grass has frost on it)

The technical skills I have developed aligning the position for a perfect shot for a photo.

I'm more confident with making sure I use different techniques.

I could improve on having more photos taken with different shots.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page